12 senators take oath of office today

Rohaniza Idris, Veena Babulal

KUALA LUMPUR: Thirteen Dewan Negara senators have been added to the senate today.

Nine of them were appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong while four others were appointed by the state assemblies.

The list of state-appointed senators are Nga Hock Cheah, Ismail Yusop, Lim Hui Ying and Yusmadi Mohd Yusoff.

Nga and Ismail were appointed by Perak while Lim and Yusmadi were appointed by Penang.

Meanwhile, the list of senators appointed by the King are Husam Musa, Raj Munni Sabu, Nasir Hashim, Adrian Banie Lasimbang, Alan Ling Sie Kiong, Theodore Douglas Lind, Monalan Mohamad, Mohamad Imran Abdul Hamid and Razali Idris.

Twelve of them took their oaths at Dewan Negara before senate president Tan Sri S.A. Vigneswaran.

Husam however was not present as he is currently performing the haj in Makkah, Saudi Arabia. © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd