1993 and all that: World events when US last won Ryder Cup in Europe

1 / 5
Bill Clinton was sworn in as US President on January 20, 1993

The United States have not won the Ryder Cup in Europe since 1993 -- the year which saw Bill Clinton become US President and the formation of the European Union.

Ahead of the golf showdown in Paris in a week's time, AFP Sport looks at the main world events of 1993, the same year current American players Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas and Bryson DeChambeau were born:


-- Dissolution of Czechoslovakia, becoming Slovakia and the Czech Republic in the 'Velvet Divorce'.

-- Jazz trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie dies at the age of 75, British actress Audrey Hepburn dies of cancer aged 63.


-- Bombing at the World Trade Center in New York kills six people and injures over 1,000.


-- 257 people killed by bombings in the then-Bombay, India.


-- CERN announces that the World Wide Web will be free to use.

-- World Health Organisation declares global health emergency after resurgence of tuberculosis.

-- Women's world no. 1 tennis player Monica Seles is stabbed by a crazed Steffi Graf fan in Hamburg.

-- South African Communist Party leader Chris Hani, strong opponent of the apartheid government, is assassinated.


-- Manchester United win inaugural English Premier League, the first of 13 league titles won under manager Alex Ferguson.


-- US launches cruise missiles strike on Iraq in response to attempted assassination of former American President George Bush Senior by alleged Iraqi agents in April.

-- Former US First Lady Pat Nixon dies aged 81.


-- King Baudouin of Belgium dies aged 62.


-- Russia withdraws its troops from Poland.

-- Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat and Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin shake hands for the first time at the White House.


-- Battle of Mogadishu.


-- European Union is formed as Maastricht Treaty comes into force.


-- Drug lord Pablo Escobar is killed by Colombian police.

-- Interim South African Constitution approved, as the country nears end to apartheid, with Nelson Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk sharing the Nobel Peace Prize.