Abu Hassan laid to rest at Shah Alam Royal Mausoleum

Iskandar Shah Mohamed

SHAH ALAM: The remains of former Selangor Mentri Besar was buried at the Shah Alam Royal Mausoleum, this afternoon.

The burial which took place at 2.50pm, saw the presence of hundreds family members, relatives as well friends of the 12th Selangor Mentri Besar.

Present was Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and the Tengku Permaisuri of Selangor, Tengku Permaisuri Norashikin.

The others present were Selangor Mentri Besar Selangor, Amirudin Shari, Tanjung Karang Member of Parliament, Tan Sri Noh Omar and Selangor Mufti, Datuk Mohd Tamyes Abd Wahid.

Abu Hassan, 77, died last night at about 8.05pm at a private hospital here following a heart attack.

He is survived by his wife Puan Sri Wan Nor Daud, four children, 15 grandchildren and a great grandson.

Meanwhile, when met by reporters after the funeral, Abu Hassan’s son Mohamed Hazali, 44, said that his father was planning to attend a special prayer with family members prior to his death.

“In terms of politics, my father continued to serve the community apart from playing a role during the 14th General Election,” he said, adding his father’s last post was as Selangor Former Elected Representatives Council chairman.

Abu Hassan was a former Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister and prior to that had also served as the Social Welfare Minister, Federal Territories Minister and Foreign Affairs Minister.

He was appointed as Selangor Mentri Besar on June 6 1997 and remained as the state’s chief executive until August, 9 2000.

Abu Hassan was a five term Kuala Selangor member parliament, when he stepped down as Dewan Rakyat member to contest the Permatang state seat in a by-election in 1997.

Following his victory in the by-election, he was appointed as the state’s 12th Mentri Besar, replacing Tan Sri Muhammad Mohd Taib.

Abu Hassan started his political career when he contested and won the Kuala Selangor parliamantary seat in the 1978 general election and successfully retained the seat in 1982, 1986, 1990 and the 1995 general elections. © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd