‘The Acolyte’ Takes Place a Long, Long Time Ago

the acolyte official trailer
‘The Acolyte’ Takes Place a Long, Long Time AgoDisney+

Star Wars is gearing up to take viewers deeper into the past than ever before. The new Disney+ series The Acolyte takes place a century before any event told onscreen in the Star Wars universe so far. The show is set during the High Republic, a time when the Jedi Order is at the height of its power. It’s an exciting new story outside the franchise’s Skywalker-centered canon—and one that fans of Star Wars’ extended universe in novels, video games, and comic books have long been looking forward to.

The Acolyte stars Amandla Stenberg (Bodies Bodies Bodies) as twin sisters Osha and Mae, who find themselves on opposite poles of the light and dark sides of the Force. Lee Jung-jae (Squid Game) plays Sol, Osha’s Jedi Master, alongside Carrie-Anne Moss (The Matrix) as Jedi Master Indara; Jodie Turner-Smith (After Yang) as Mother Aniseya, the leader of a coven of Force witches; and Manny Jacinto (The Good Place) as smuggler Qimir.

For more information about The Acolyte, keep reading—and travel with us to a time long, long ago.

What Happens on The Acolyte?

Series creator Leslye Headland (Russian Doll)—who serves as head showrunner and co-director—told Entertainment Weekly that the original pitch for The Acolyte was “Frozen meets Kill Bill.” As twin sisters Osha and Mae battle on opposing sides of the Force, their mentors seek to sway them to their respective causes. Set a hundred years before the events of Star Wars: Episode I—The Phantom Menace, the story occurs far before any Star Wars tale told on television or film before. With a little luck, The Acolyte may even usher in a new franchise time period for the long-running sci-fi universe.

When Does The Acolyte Premiere?

The first two episodes air on Disney+ on June 4 at 9:00 p.m. ET /6:00 p.m. PT. The series runs weekly for eight episodes through mid-July. South Korean filmmaker Kogonada (After Yang) directs two episodes, following his successful Apple TV+ adaptation of Pachinko. For a full schedule, check out The Acolyte’s release dates below.

Episode 1: “TBA” — June 4

Episode 2: “TBA” — June 4

Episode 3: “TBA” — June 11

Episode 4: “TBA” — June 18

Episode 5: “TBA” — June 25

Episode 6: “TBA” — July 2

Episode 7: “TBA” —July 9

Episode 8: “TBA” — July 16

You Might Also Like