Balakong by-election: 62,160 voters begin casting their ballots


CHERAS: A total of 62,160 voters will cast their ballots to select the new assemblyman for the Balakong state seat today.

Eighteen polling stations across the constituency will be open from 8am to 5.30pm.

The Balakong by-election is a straight fight between MCA's Tan Chee Teong and Pakatan Harapan's (PH) Wong Siew Ki.

The Election Commission (EC) has anticipated a voter turnout of 70 per cent for the by-election. This is a higher target than the 49.8 per cent turnout recorded during the Sungai Kandis by-election.

As soon as the balloting process ends at 5.30pm, the tallying of votes will be conducted at Dewan Utama Demesne at the Hulu Langat District and Land Office.

On Sept 4, a total of 28 out of 31 police officers cast their votes at the early polling centre at the Seri Kembangan Police Quarters.

The Balakong state seat fell vacant following the death of its assemblyman, Eddie Ng Tien Chee, in an accident at KM11.7 of the Grand Saga Highway on July 20.

In the 14th general election, Ng retained his Balakong seat for the second term after defeating Lim Chin Wah from Barisan Nasional and Mohamad Ibrahim Ghazali of Pas with a 35,538-vote majority. Reporting by Nor Ain Mohamed Radhi, Esther Landau, Meor Riduwan Meor Ahmad and Fahmy Azril Rosli © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd