Balakong by-election: Hard for PH to secure same majority as GE14

Nor Ain Mohamed Radhi

BANGI: Pakatan Harapan's candidate for the Balakong by-election, Wong Siew Ki, believes that it is unlikely that she will secure the same majority as the seat’s incumbent, the late Eddie Ng Tien Chee. Speaking to the reporters after submitting her nomination, Wong said voter turnout on polling day will determine whether this is possible. “The situation (the 14th general election and the by-election) is different. “The voter turnout during the recent Sungai Kandis by-election was not even 50 per cent. “It is hard to get that high (a majority). Nevertheless, I will try my best,” she told reporters after submitting her nomination papers at the nomination centre at Dewan Utama Demesne at the Hulu Langat Land and District Office here on Saturday. Wong was relieved that the nomination process went off without a hitch. “I was worried that there would be mistakes with my documents. But after going through all the documents, everything was fine. I feel relieved,” she said.

DAP candidate Wong Siew Ki (right) with MCA candidate Tan Chee Teong pose for a photo after the nomination process. Pic by AIZUDDIN SAAD

Meanwhile, MCA candidate Tan Chee Teong said the Balakong by-election is not a personal battle, but one involving the people and the government. “What I can say that it is not my personal war, but the people’s. “We (MCA) are now the opposition. We just want to make Selangor better following the change in government. “We want to build a future for our next generation,” he said. Asked if he is confident of winning the by-election, Tan said; “I will try my best.” Both Tan and Wong arrived at the nomination centre to submit their nomination papers at 9.06am and 9.13am, respectively. Tan was accompanied by MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong, while Wong was accompanied by DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng. The Balakong seat fell vacant following Ng’s death in an accident at KM11.7 of the Grand Saga Highway on July 20. In GE14, Ng retained his Balakong seat for the second term after defeating Lim Chin Wah from Barisan Nasional (BN) and Mohamad Ibrahim Ghazali (Pas) with a 35,538-vote majority. Early voting for Balakong by-election was set on Sept 4, while voting day is on Sept 8. © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd