Liberal Party reigns in Leyte province

VERA Files
Tinig Ng Botante
19 May 2013

By Vicente Alejandro, VERA Files

Catbalogan City – Except for a lone congress seat snagged by a rival party, the Liberal Party (LP) won all the congressional and provincial positions in Leyte in the May 13 midterm elections.

It was unopposed re-electionist, first district Rep. Ferdinand Romualdez of the Lakas Christian Muslim Democrat, a scion of a prominent political clan in Leyte, who foiled the LP’s attempt for a clean sweep of top positions in the province.

The LP winners in the congressional race in Leyte were re-electionists Rep. Sergio Apostol of the second district and Rep. Andres Salvacion of the third district, unseated but now congresswoman-elect Lucy Torres and re-electionist Rep. Jose Carlos Cari of the fifth district of this province in the Eastern Visayas.

Leading the LP provincial winners were governor-elect Leopoldo Dominic Petilla, who also ran unopposed, and vice governor-elect Carlo P. Loreto (LP), a former Leyte board member.

As provincial board members, proclaimed winners were Bob Abellanosa and Gina Merilo in the first district of Leyte; Anlie Apostol and NicoloVillasin in the second district; Alan Ang and Mimiette Bagulaya in the 3rd, Yvonne Bertulfo and Mesias Arevalo in the 4th , and Florante Cayuda and Emmanuel Gacis in the fifth district.

They all belong to the Liberal Party.

The LP, though, suffered setbacks in the two big cities of Leyte --Tacloban and Ormoc. In Tacloban City, Mayor Alfred Romualdez of the Nacionalista Party got re-elected for his third and last term while in Ormoc City, political neophyte Edward Codilla (Ind.) defeated movie actor Richard Gomez of the LP.

The province of Leyte, composed of 1,641 barangays (villages), has 5,135 clustered precincts and a total of 1,072,743 registered voters for the 2013 midterm election.

(VERA Files is put out by veteran journalists taking a deeper look at current issues. Vera is Latin for "true".)