Changes in 2010 MMFF introduced

Manila Bulletin

MANILA, Philippines - In this year's Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF), there will be three notable changes. This was announced by Atty. Francis N. Tolentino, Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman who's also MMFF 2010 over-all chairman, during the recent press launch of the festival at Club Filipino.

First, the controversial commercial viability (box-office performance of the entries) criterion that decided heavily on the selection of the Best Picture in previous festivals has been removed. The criteria this time for the selection of Best Picture(s) are artistry, creativity and technical excellence, innovativeness, thematic value and global appeal (70 percent) and Filipino cultural and/or historical value (30 percent).

Second, this year's MMFF will give tribute to independent films with the showing of five carefully chosen indie films at SM Megamall a week before the actual MMFF played on Dec. 25. These films are ''Senior Year'' by Jerrold Tarog; ''Nasaan si Hefte'' by Jonnah Lim; ''Presa'' by Adolf Alix, Jr., ''Slow Fade'' by Rommel Sales; and ''Rindido'' by Noriel Jarito.

Chairman Tolentino said that this ''Tribute to the Indie Films-Philippine Premier'' intends to promote quality independent films and to encourage filmmakers with limited budget.

Third, the board of jurors will be expanded to include men and women from the masa, like housewives, drivers, students, teachers, etc. They will join the established MMFF jurors.

The eight official entries to MMFF 2010 are ''Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote'' (APT, Inc., GMA Films, Imus Productions, M-Zet TV Production, Inc. and OctoArts Films), ''Ang Tanging Ina Rin (Last na Ito),'' ABS-CBN Productions, Inc.; ''Dalaw'' (Cine Media/Star Cinema), ''Father Jejemon'' (RVQ Productions), ''Rosario'' (Cinemanila International), ''RPG'' (ABS-CBN Productions/Ambient Media); ''Shake, Rattle & Roll XII'' (Regal Entertainment), and ''Super Inday and the Golden Bibe'' (Regal Entertainment).

The MMFF 2010 Executive Committee is composed of: Atty. Francis N. Tolentino, over-all chairman; Mayor Herbert Bautista, co-chairman; Jesse M. Ejercito, executive chairman; Mark Meily, vice chairman; Atty. Emmanuel de Castro, executive director; Ms. Ludia Domingo, asst. executive director; Atty. Rochelle Macapili, OIC, MMDA Office of the GM; Wilson Y. Tieng, Boots Anson-Roa, Dominic Du, Leo Martinez, Manuel Nuqui, Marcus Ng, Roesholm Camaligan, Mary Grace Poe Llamanzares, Atty. Nomie E. Ilagan, Atty. Aristodes Ruaro, Atty. Crisanto Saruca, Atty. Ramon Remollo, Atty Yves, Gonzalez and Ed Lara, members.

The 2010 MMFF will run from Dec. 25, 2010 to Jan. 3, 2011. The Awards Night will be held on Dec. 26 at Meralco Theater.

• • •
Three hot stars endorse F&H

Three of today's celebrity endorsers led the Parade of Stars in Folded & Hung's biggest event this year billed as the ''2010 Streetcast Fashion Show'' held recently at SMX Convention Center in SM Mall of Asia.

With the theme ''it is who you are not what you spend,'' Streetcast is offering the best of casual street style, taking inspiration from what festivalgoers wear to celebrate the three-day Coachella Muisic and Arts Festival held every year in Indio' California as a homage to art in all forms.

The stars who modelled the F&H collection included Luis Alandy, Princess Snell, Luane Dy, Gretchen Espina, Prince Stefan, Tim Yap, Isabelle Abierra, Helga Ktapf, Kazel Kinouchi, April Sun, Rachel Bustamante, Lance Christopher, Jose Sasola, Xian Lim, Enrique Gil, JP and JM Lagumbay.

• • •

Angelos' Christmas album launch tour

The first Christmas album of the famed group Angelos is already out and in fact it had its first launch promo mall tour at SM Megamall Atrium last Nov. 6. The succeeding mall tour schedule is as follows: Nov. 30 at The Block SM North Edsa, Dec. 4, SM Bacoor; Dec. 5, SM Sta. Rosa; Dec. 10, SM Rosario, Cavite; Dec. 11, SM Fairview; Dec. 12, SM Dasmariñas; Dec. 13, SM Mall of Asia; Dec. 14, Glorietta; Dec. 15, Robinsons Manila; Dec. 17, The Podium; Dec. 19, SM Pasig. Other mall tours, as well as school campus tour dates and the venues will be announced later.

Angelos is a classical-pop tenor group composed of young, vibrant and good-looking Filipino artists: George S. Tagle, Miguel Aguila, Paolo Libiran, Louie Abaigar, and the newest member, KC Aldana.

The Angelos won the Aliw Awards' Best Group in Concert category in 2009.

They have been travelling and performing all over the world (with standing ovations) and have awed their audience with their ''music from the heart.'' Some of their notable performances include the 77th birthday concert for former US Pres. Jimmy Carter, a concert of Ms. Lani Misalucha in Las Vegas, back-to-back concerts with world-renowned pianist David Osborne, at the World Expo, at the 10th anniversary of Macau Sar, two concerts in the River Rock Show Theater in Vancouver, Canada, and many others.

For more information about Angelos, visit their website and Facebook account: The Angelos.

• • •
Tidbits: Happy b-day greetings Monday, Nov. 29, go to GMA Pres./COO Gilberto Duavit, Gen. Jose Calimlim, Evangeline Pascual, Raymond Lauchengco, Dante Silverio, Tanini Serrano de Leon, Chaminia Banal, Lani Leabres, Rafael Teotico, Purita Galano, Mel A. Celeste, Atty. Ester Sison Cruz, and Bishop Filomeno Bactol of Biliran Province.... Walker Undearwear has partnered with SM Dept. Store and Hypermarket for its Buy-3-Take-One promo. From Nov. 1-30, consumers can avail themselves of this promo at any SM Dept. Sore and Hypermarket located nationwide. Walker underwear is one of the trusted names in Men's Underwear collection, that has been around for more than 50 years from now. Walkers delivers the most complete and innovative line of underwear options - from briefs, boxers shorts, t-shirts, sando's made with strict adherence to quality and comfort, Filipinos want...