China Misses Out on Record 23-race F1 Calendar in 2022

·2-min read

China was dropped from the Formula One calendar for a third successive year on Friday as a record 23-race schedule for 2022 was released.

“Due to ongoing pandemic conditions, China will not be included on the 2022 calendar. China will be restored to the calendar as soon as conditions allow,” said a statement from governing body, the FIA.

The Chinese GP at Shanghai will be replaced by the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola on April 24.

The 2022 season will start in Bahrain on March 20 and finish back in the Gulf at Abu Dhabi on November 20.

Next year’s schedule also continues a steady growth in the number of events as international sport emerges from the pandemic.

In 2020, there were 17 F1 races, which rose to 22 for this year’s world championship.

Next season, Australia, Canada, Singapore and Japan are all set to return after being axed in 2020 and 2021 because of Covid-19 and subsequent health restrictions.

A new race in Miami has also been confirmed for May 8 as the United States hosts two events with Austin pencilled in on October 23.

“We are excited to announce the 2022 calendar as we prepare to enter a new era for the sport with brand new regulations and cars for next year that are designed to create closer racing,” said Stefano Domenicali, the president of F1.

“This season has been incredible so far with great battles on the track, large audiences tuning in and fans returning to the races after the impact of the pandemic.

“We look forward to welcoming more fans back next season and hope 2022 feels more normal than the life we have all experienced in the past two years.”

2022 Formula One calendar

  • March 20: Bahrain, Sakhir
  • March 27: Saudi Arabia, Jeddah
  • April 10: Australia, Melbourne
  • April 24: Emilia Romagna, Imola*
  • May 8: Miami, Miami**
  • May 22: Spain, Barcelona*
  • May 29: Monaco, Monaco
  • June 12: Azerbaijan, Baku
  • June 19: Canada, Montreal
  • July 3: Great Britain, Silverstone
  • July 10: Austria, Spielberg
  • July 24: France, Le Castellet
  • July 31: Hungary, Budapest
  • August 28: Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps
  • September 4: Netherlands, Zandvoort
  • September 11: Italy, Monza
  • September 25: Russia, Sochi
  • October 2: Singapore, Singapore*
  • October 9: Japan, Suzuka
  • October 23: United States, Austin*
  • October 30: Mexico, Mexico City
  • November 13: Brazil, Sao Paulo
  • November 20: Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina
  • * subject to contract

    ** subject to FIA circuit homologation

    Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram.

    Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting