Dewan Negara adjourns after passing 13 Bills


KUALA LUMPUR: The Dewan Negara was today adjourned after it passed a total of 13 Bills and 757 questions put forward.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said said this sitting also saw Senate members returning to the newly-renovated building for proceedings.

"I would like to thank all Dewan Negara for taking part in the debates and voiced their commitment in passing the 13 Bills.

"The Bills will have to receive the royal assent of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong before they are gazetted," she said in a statement today.

Among the key Bills were the Bankruptcy (Amendment) Bill 2016, which is set to give bankrupts a second chance to get out of bankruptcy.

She said the amendments also showed that the government was committed to reduce the burden of the people, as announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak in his 2017 Budget speech.

Azalina went on to state that as the minister who led the task force, she was happy and satisfied that the Sexual Offences Against Children Bill 2017 was passed unanimously.

"The Bill is the government's efforts to protect children from being victims to individuals out there who are inhumane," she added.

Among the other Bills passed were the Supplementary Supply Bill (2016) 2017, the Strategic Trade (Amendment) Bill 2017, the Private Higher Educational Institutions (Amendment) Bill 2017, the Self-Employment Social Security Bill 2017 and the Penal Code (Amendment) Bill 2017.