England duo Farrell and Daly on rugby award shortlist

England's Owen Farrell is due to tour New Zealand with the British and Irish Lions

England internationals Owen Farrell and Elliot Daly were named on a five-man shortlist for the Rugby Players' Association Players' Player of the Year award revealed on Wednesday.

Farrell and Daly, both due to tour New Zealand with the British and Irish Lions, were joined by Daly's Wasps team-mates Christian Wade and Jimmy Gopperth and Northampton's France number eight Louis Picamoles.

The award is voted for by all English Premiership players, with the winner to be announced at the RPA awards dinner in London next Wednesday.

"It's very pleasing to be nominated for such a prestigious and well-respected award," said Saracens fly-half Farrell, nominated for the second year running, in a press release.

"The Premiership is such a competitive league, so to be nominated as one of the five best players is an incredible feeling and one which I am very proud of."

Wasps flanker George Smith won last year's award.