England's 18-match winning streak

Eddie Jones (R) trains the England squad: the team have not lost a Test under his coaching

England will kick-off against Ireland in the final match of the 2017 Six Nations in Dublin on Saturday knowing they are just 80 minutes away from a record-breaking win.

Victory at Lansdowne Road would see England, who've already retained the Six Nations title, set a new record of 19 successive Test wins by a 'tier one' or leading rugby union nation, breaking the mark they currently share with world champions New Zealand.

A win would also give England the Triple Crown and mean they had become the first team in the Six Nations era to complete back-to-back Grand Slams.

England equalled the All Blacks' mark with a 61-21 thrashing of Scotland at Twickenham last Saturday that saw them win the Six Nations title with a round to spare.

But it was Ireland, who ended New Zealand's run with a 40-29 win -- their first-ever victory against the All Blacks -- in Chicago in November.

The Irish will be aiming to finish second in the Six Nations after a 22-9 defeat by Wales in Cardiff last Friday ended their title hopes.

England won all their 13 Tests in 2016 after coach Eddie Jones succeeded Stuart Lancaster following a World Cup where the tournament hosts exited in the group stages following a 33-13 defeat by the Wallabies at Twickenham on October 3 2015 -- their last loss.

Lancaster's final match in charge, a 'dead' game against Uruguay, produced a 60-3 win in Manchester that started England's winning streak.

None of England's matches in their present run have been against New Zealand and they are not due to face the world champions again until 2018.

The most consecutive Test wins by any country is the 24 achieved by junior nation Cyprus from 2008-2014.

England's winning streak since Oct 10 2015.

Played: 18

Won: 18



Oct 10: England 60 Uruguay 3 (WC)


Feb 06: Scotland 9 England 15

Feb 14: Italy 9 England 40

Feb 27: England 21 Ireland 10

Mar 12: England 25 Wales 21

Mar 19: France 21 England 31

May 29: England 27 Wales 13

Jun 11: Australia 28 England 39

Jun 18: Australia 7 England 23

Jun 25: Australia 40 England 44

Nov 12: England 37 South Africa 21

Nov 19: England 58 Fiji 15

Nov 26: England 27 Argentina 14

Dec 03: England 37 Australia 21


Feb 04: England 19 France 16

Feb 11: Wales 16 England 21

Feb 26: England 36 Italy 15

Mar 11: England 61 Scotland 21

Note: WC = World Cup