England's Farrell cleared to face Scotland

Owen Farrell is fit to face Scotland in the Calcutta Cup clash at Twickenham

Owen Farrell was passed fit to face Scotland in the Calcutta Cup clash at Twickenham on Saturday following a leg injury.

Farrell, England's first-choice goal-kicker, has been central to the team's run of 17 successive Test wins and was named Thursday at inside centre.

But it then emerged he had suffered an unspecified leg injury and the playmaker missed training on Friday.

Farrell was present for kicking practice conducted by England great Jonny Wilkinson on Friday but was only seen going through the motions of technique rather than striking the ball.

But with Six Nations leaders England not obliged to confirm their side until an hour before Saturday's kick-off, they waited until the deadline before confirming the 25-year-old Farrell's place in the No 12 shirt.

Should Farrell be unable to kick during the match, England do have alternative options in fly-half George Ford and wing Elliot Daly, a long-range specialist.

However, the previous occasion Ford was England's goal-kicker, against Wales at Twickenham in May last year, he missed six kicks out of seven.

If England beat Scotland on Saturday they will equal New Zealand's record of 18 consecutive Test wins by a tier one nation and will also retain the Six Nations title they won with a Grand Slam last year.

Teams for the Calcutta Cup match between England and Scotland in the Six Nations at Twickenham on Saturday (1600 GMT kick-off):

Teams (15-1)


Mike Brown; Jack Nowell, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Elliot Daly; George Ford, Ben Youngs; Nathan Hughes, James Haskell, Maro Itoje; Courtney Lawes, Joe Launchbury; Dan Cole, Dylan Hartley (capt), Joe Marler

Replacements: Jamie George, Mako Vunipola, Kyle Sinckler, Tom Wood, Billy Vunipola, Danny Care, Ben Te'o, Anthony Watson


Stuart Hogg; Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones, Alex Dunbar, Tim Visser; Finn Russell, Ali Price; Ryan Wilson, Hamish Watson, John Barclay (capt); Jonny Gray, Richie Gray; Zander Fagerson, Fraser Brown, Gordon Reid

Replacements: Ross Ford, Allan Dell, Simon Berghan, Tim Swinson, Cornell du Preez, Henry Pyrgos, Duncan Weir, Mark Bennett

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (FRA)