Ex-Wisma Putra sec-gen is new Suhakam chairman

Othman replaces Tan Sri Razali Ismail (pic) as Suhakam chairman. — Picture by Mukhriz Hazim
Othman replaces Tan Sri Razali Ismail (pic) as Suhakam chairman. — Picture by Mukhriz Hazim

KUALA LUMPUR, June 26 — Former Foreign Ministry secretary-general Tan Sri Othman Hashim will be the new chairman of the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam), the Prime Minister’s Office announced today.

In a press statement, Hashim's appointment, along with eight new commissioners, have been approved by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, and their terms of service effectively beginning on April 27, 2019, and lasting for three years.

The new commissioners are Datuk Seri Mohd Hishamudin Md. Yunus, Medaline Berma, Datuk Godfrey Gregory, Datuk Mah Weng Kwai, Datuk Lok Yim Pheng, Prof Nik Salida Suhaila Nik Saleh and Jerald S. Joseph.

With the exception of Hishamudin and Medaline, all other commissioners had served in the previous term as Suhakam commissioners under the leadership of Tan Sri Razali Ismail, who resigned as chairman on April 16 of this year.

Razali had served the commission since 2016 and was supposed to have completed his term on April 27, but had resigned two weeks earlier to help with the transition of the new chairman.

Related Articles Muhyiddin: Special taskforce to investigate enforced disappearances on the way KL man claims he was assaulted, tasered and abused with chilli on genitals while under police custody In Bar Council’s Rome Statute forum, Shafee claims he was part of pioneer researchers on the treaty

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting