The Game Awards: 12 hot indies to get temporary demos through Steam

A 48-hour run at demos for 12 upcoming games begins 10am Pacific on December 12, as part of The Game Awards 2019, from paintbrush adventure "Chicory: A Colorful Tale" and furniture-lugging rush "Moving Out" to a long-awaited remake of space station thriller "System Shock."

A dozen well-anticipated indie video games are to feature as part of The Game Awards' new associated attraction, The Game Festival.

Demos for the upcoming 2020 releases will go live at 10am Pacific through PC, Mac and Linux gaming service Steam, creating a temporary, interactive showcase.

It's an event sure to increase interest (and overall intention to purchase) in the dozen or so selected titles, while enhancing the reputation and influence of The Game Awards.

The start time equates to 1pm, 6pm UK, 7pm Central Europe, 8pm South Africa, 11.30pm India, and then December 13 at 2am in Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China, 3am in South Korea and Japan, and 5am in Sydney, Australia.

The demos "will disappear after 48 hours," said The Game Awards producer and host Geoff Keighley through Twitter.


[Spiritfarer June 2019 Announcement Trailer: youtu.be/YnuEvePlxWI]

Named titles include curious end-of-life ferry management sim "Spiritfarer," story-led offworld exploration "Haven," tiny bird board-flipper "SkateBird" and comedy-horror "Carrion," all of which enjoyed a spike in popularity around June's 2019 Electronic Entertainment Expo.


[System Shock: January 2019 Final Art Preview: youtu.be/rt33j2EaUmY]

A remastered edition of 1994 classic "System Shock," whose influence can be traced through to "Portal," "Far Cry" and "Alien: Isolation," is also receiving a public demo, five years after it was first announced.


[Eastward - August 2019 trailer: youtu.be/4Jvne3fOwj8]

Also involved are paintbrush adventure "Chicory," exquisitly rendered continent-spanning quest "Eastward," co-operative furniture transferal puzzle "Moving Out," space station challenge "Heavenly Bodies," newspaper-oriented Wild West RPG "Wooden Nickel" and wintry fairytale twist "Roki."

Complementing the creepy atmospheres of "System Shock" and "Carrion" will be oppressively atmospheric 2D platformer "Acid Knife" and Aussie thriller "The Drifter."

The Game Awards are set to start 10 and a half hours after The Game Festival begins (8.30pm Pacific, for example).

The show is also just as well known, if not more so, for its role as a preview event at which studios and publishers present updates on previously announced games and make a number of surprise reveals.