GE2020: Lee Bee Wah retiring from politics, Carrie Tan takes over as Nee Soon GRC candidate

Wan Ting Koh
·2-min read
(Photo from Lee Bee Wah's Facebook page)
(Photo from Lee Bee Wah's Facebook page)

SINGAPORE — Lee Bee Wah announced on Monday (29 June) that she will be retiring from politics and not run in the upcoming General Election (GE) to defend her Member of Parliament seat in Nee Soon Group Representation Constituency (GRC).

In a Facebook post on Monday, Lee said that Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam will be leading the People’s Action Party’s Nee Soon GRC team, and new candidate Carrie Tan, 38, will be replacing her in the Nee Soon South ward.

“As part of party renewal process, I am glad that a much younger candidate has been fielded.”

Lee, 59, has been the MP of Nee Soon South since 2006 and is known for her outspoken manner in Parliament. The ward was part of Ang Mo Kio GRC in 2006 and was later part of Nee Soon GRC from 2011 to 2020.

With her retirement, Lee said she would have more time with her family, especially her 80-year-old mother.

“I have received many messages of support from Singaporeans. I am very touched. It has been a privilege to serve you for the last 14 years. You have become my family. I will miss all of you. Let’s keep in touch on my personal social media,” she said.

Lee was the chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for National Development and the Environment and Water Resources, and served as a member of the GPC for Culture, Community & Youth.

Lee was also the president of the Singapore Table Tennis Association from 2008 to 2014.

PAP has yet to confirm all its candidates for the five-seat Nee Soon GRC.

New candidate Derrick Goh, 51, managing director and head of group audit at DBS Bank, is reported to be one of the candidates for Nee Soon GRC.

Henry Kwek, ex-Nee Soon GRC MP, will be standing in the single seat of Kebun Baru, which was carved out from Nee Soon GRC for GE2020.

Opposition party Progress Singapore Party said it plans to contest in Nee Soon and field Bradley Bowyer, Damien Tay, Kala Manickam, Sri Nallakaruppan, Taufik Supan as its candidates for the GRC.

Follow Yahoo News Singapore’s GE2020 coverage here.

Stay in the know on-the-go: Join Yahoo Singapore's Telegram channel at

Related stories

Overheard during GE2020: Quotes by party members, candidates

GE2020: We are not 'hiding' in Tanjong Pagar GRC, we are our own men, say new PAP candidates

GE2020: Voting to proceed at 10 overseas polling stations, says ELD

GE2020: PSP calls for cut in ministerial salaries, review of POFMA in its manifesto

PM Lee: GE2020 not about my family dispute, but about Singapore's future amid crisis