'Grow up' -Newsom blasts election fraud claims

California voters on Tuesday (September 14) were deciding whether to recall Governor Gavin Newsom in a special election that will test the power of a Republican Party still dominated by former U.S. President Donald Trump in a deeply Democratic state.

Newsom - a first-term governor and former lieutenant governor and San Francisco mayor - is fighting for his political future in only the second gubernatorial recall election in state history in 55 attempts.

The latest opinion polls show him favored to retain his job.

Mail-in voting began nearly a month ago, with in-person voting taking place on Tuesday and the polls closing at 8 p.m. PDT, or 11 p.m. EDT (0300 GMT).

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting