Heightened security follows Leicester's European dream

Atletico Madrid football fans wait for the start of the UEFA Champions League quarter final first leg football match against Leicester City at the Vicente Calderon stadium in Madrid on April 12, 2017

Nearly 1,000 security officers will patrol Leicester City's Champions League quarter-final first leg at Atletico Madrid on Wednesday.

Both teams were escorted to the Vicente Calderon under beefed up security measures following an attack on Borussia Dortmund's team bus ahead of their suspended Champions League match on Tuesday.

UEFA said all three quarter-finals now taking place on Wednesday would go ahead with enhanced security procedures.

However, Leicester fans are also under the spotlight after eight were arrested and five people suffered minor injuries in clashes with police on Tuesday night.

Two more arrests were made in further clashes in Madrid city centre with police before the game on Wednesday.

Leicester fans will occupy nearly three thousand of the 55,000 capacity.

On the field, Tunisian defender Yohan Benalouane was handed his Champions League debut by Leicester manager Craig Shakespeare in place of injured captain Wes Morgan.

Morgan's absence is Leicester's only change from the side that beat Sevilla 2-0 in the second leg of their last 16 tie to reach the quarters.

Danny Simpson, Christian Fuchs, Riyad Mahrez, Wilfred Ndidi and Shinji Okazaki all return after being rested for the first defeat of Shakespeare's reign since replacing the sacked Claudio Ranieri at Everton on Sunday.

Injuries restrict Atletico coach Diego Simeone's options so he named the same side that drew 1-1 with Real Madrid on Saturday.

Kevin Gameiro's absence means Fernando Torres keeps his place alongside Antoine Griezmann up front.

Griezmann, though, will be Atletico's main threat having scored at the Bernabeu at the weekend to take his tally for the season to 23 goals.

Atletico Madrid (4-4-2): Jan Oblak; Juanfran, Diego Godin (captain), Stefan Savic, Filipe Luis; Koke, Gabi, Saul Niguez, Yannick Carrasco; Antoine Griezmann, Fernando Torres

Coach: Diego Simeone (ARG)

Leicester (4-4-2): Kasper Schmeichel (capt); Danny Simpson, Yohan Benalouane, Robert Huth, Christian Fuchs; Riyad Mahrez, Danny Drinkwater, Wilfred Ndidi, Marc Albrighton; Jamie Vardy, Shinji Okazaki

Coach: Craig Shakespeare (ENG)

Referee: Jonas Eriksson (SWE)