MCA's Sin Woon among three senators sworn in to Dewan Negara

Farhana Syed Nokman

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA Youth Chief Datuk Chong Sin Woon, who was reappointed as senator, was sworn in as a member of Dewan Negara, along with three other senators today.

The other reappointed senators are Deputy Finance minister Datuk Lee Chee Leong, Gopeng Umno chief Datuk Hamzah Kassim and Jempol Umno chief Datuk Mohd Salim Sharif @ Mohd Sharif.

The senators took their oath in front of Dewan Negara president, Datuk S A Vigneswaran, who advised them to carry out their duties according to their oaths and reminded them to defend the Federal Constitution.

“Even though this is the second reappointment, I would like to remind (you) that it is important for senators to understand the value of, and defend, the constitution and the rule of law,” he said.

Chong, who is also the deputy Education Minister, said he would like to thank the MCA and the Negri Sembilan government for trusting him.

“I will do my best to carry out my duty for the people of Negri Sembilan,” he told reporters at Parliament lobby here today.

Lee, 60, who is former Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister, holds a bachelor's degree (Honours) in Accounting and Finance from Bristol Polytechnic, England.

Hamzah, 61, who has been Gopeng Umno chief since 2008, is the chairman of Risda Bina Sdn Bhd.

Salim hails from Negri Sembilan and holds a diploma from Serdang Agricultural University.