MOM releases list of 2014 public holidays

SINGAPORE - FEBRUARY 10: Worshippers gather to pray at the Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple on Lunar New Year on February 10, 2013 in Singapore. Thousands gathered today to celebrate the Chinese New Year and welcome the the Year of the Snake, with new year's day falling on February 10. Chinese new Year is the most important festival in the Chinese calendar and is celebrated in Singapore and many other Southeast Asian countries with significant Chinese Populations. (Photo by Suhaimi Abdullah/Getty Images)

Time to whip those calendars out and start planning your long weekends.

The Ministry of Manpower has just announced the list of 11 public holidays for 2014.

Next year, Chinese New Year will fall on Friday, Jan 31 and Saturday, Feb 1.

Good Friday will be on April 18 and Vesak Day on May 13.

Hari Raya Puasa is on July 28 while Hari Raya Haji is on Oct 5. Deepavali next year is slated to be on Oct 23, but is subject to change.

New Year's Day, Labour Day, National Day and Christmas Day will fall on the usual days.

The complete list for the 11 gazetted public holidays can be viewed on the Ministry's website here.

Public Holidays in 2014

New Year's Day         -- 1 Jan (Wednesday)
Chinese New Year     -- 31 Jan, 1 Feb (Friday/Saturday)
Good Friday              -- 18 April (Friday)
Labour Day               -- 1 May (Thursday)
Vesak Day                -- 13 May (Tuesday)
Hari Raya Puasa       -- 28 July (Monday)
National Day             -- 9 Aug (Saturday)
Hari Raya Haji           -- 5 October (Sunday, the following Monday is a PH)
Deepavali                  -- 23 October (Thursday)*
Christmas Day          -- 25 December (Thursday)

*Subject to change, according to Indian almanac