M'sian Bar AGM: 6 motions proposed, including alcohol ban at functions


KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Bar today rejected a motion at its annual general meeting (AGM) to stop serving alcohol at all its functions.

Its newly-elected president George Varughes said the motion was defeated with overwhelming majority from the 841 lawyers who attended the meeting.

“I’m not sure of the exact number but I can say only a handful voted in favour of the motion,” he said at a press conference at the Renaissance Hotel here today.

The motion dated March 10 was proposed by lawyer Mohd Amir Sharil Bahari Md Noor.

In previous new reports, Amir had noted the diverse backgrounds of Malaysian Bar members who are multi-ethnic and of different religions, before going on to say that “all major religions” prohibit the consumption of alcohol.

He also stated that serving alcohol at an event would unnecessarily increase the cost by up to 40 per cent, before pointing out the negative effects of drinking too much alcohol.

On another matter, Amir’s motion against fellow lawyer, Siti Zabedah Kasim, was withdrawn during the AGM.

Amir, who specialises in Syariah law, had called on the Malaysian Bar to resolve to condemn Siti Kasim’s behaviour in uploading a February 23 video allegedly showing the 25th KL Bar AGM’s proceedings.

Amir had said Siti Kasim defied the chairman’s order and posted the recording for public consumption.

Varughese said a total of six motions were proposed, where four of them had been carried out with overwhelming majority.

These included Bar Council former chairman Steven Thiru’s two proposed motions touching on the Kelantan Orang Asli community, and deaths in police custody and police brutality.

The other two motions that were passed were the call for prosecution of police officers involved in torture and deaths in custody, as well as the call for the repeal of the Prevention of Crime Act and all laws allowing detention without trial.

The Malaysian Bar also announced its new line-up for the 2017/2018 term, namely vice-president Abdul Fareed Abdul Gafoor, honorary secretary Roger Chan Weng Keng and treasurer Ravi Nekoo.