Nepal PM Deuba announces full and functional cabinet

In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Kathmandu (Nepal), Oct 09 (ANI): Following the appointment of Sher Bahadur Deuba as Prime Minister , who is the successor to KP Sharma Oli, Nepal announced its full and functional government 88 days after the appointment. Deuba’s administration now is full with 25 ministers which also includes the sitting Prime Minister Deuba himself. The 2015 Constitution of Nepal has capped the number of members on board the cabinet to 25 including the Prime Minister. Back in July, Deuba was appointed as Prime Minister by Supreme Court issuing a mandamus as it gave its final verdict over petition filed against dissolution of parliament by former Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. Deuba currently leads a coalition of 4 parties including his own Nepali Congress. In the latest round of cabinet reshuffle, Deuba has appointed Gajendra Hamalas Minister of Industry, Commerce and Supplies and has assigned Minister of State for Health Umesh Shrestha in the same position at the Prime Minister’s Office. Former Law Minister Karki’s portfolio has been changed. Earlier, Bal Krishna Khand was appointed the Home Minister and Dr. Narayan Khadka the Foreign Minister from the Nepali Congress (NC). Similarly, JanataSamajbadi Party (JSP) has nominated RenuYadav to be the Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Rajendra Shrestha as the Minister for Federal Affairs and General Administration, Ram SahayYadav as the Minister for Forests and Environment and Pramod Sah as the Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Development. From the CPN-Unified Socialist, Ram Kumar Jhankri received the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Krishna Kumar Shrestha the Ministry of Labor, Employment and Social Security and Prem Ale the Ministry of Urban Development.BirodhKhatiwada has been given the charge of the Ministry of Health and Population and Bhavani Prasad Khapung has been appointed as the Minister of State for Health. Similarly, Prime Minister Deuba has appointed DevendraPoudel of the CPN-Maoist Center as the Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Shashi Shrestha as the Minister of Land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation, and MaheshwarGahatraj as the Minister of Youth and Sports.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting