New MRT signalling system to be tested on East-West Line for 5 Sundays during operational hours

Commuters on an East West Line train platform. (Yahoo News Singapore file photo)

SMRT will begin testing its new signalling system on the East-West Line (EWL) during passenger service hours, starting on Sunday (29 April).

The new Communications-Based Train Control signalling system will undergo full-day testing for five Sundays until 27 May, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on social media. According to the post, there will be no changes to the EWL’s operating schedule.

Gul Circle and Joo Koon stations will be connected to the rest of the line during the tests. The two stations were disconnected after the Joo Koon Station train collision on 15 November last year. The shuttle bus service will not operate on the Sundays on which testing will be carried out.

In March, SMRT said that in order to provide more time for tests of the new signalling system, all 35 stations on the East-West Line (EWL) will continue to close earlier and open later during weekends in April.

Related stories:

East West Line early closures to continue through April: SMRT

Shorter weekend operating hours for 7 MRT stations along NSL in May