New This Week: Bob Dylan, Trace Adkins, Mastodon, and More

Wendy Geller
Writer, Yahoo Entertainment

Searching for something to listen to this weekend? Yahoo Music has you covered with a rundown of some of the week’s biggest and buzzing releases, including Bob Dylan, Trace Adkins, Mastodon, and more. Check back every Friday for a fresh list of albums to help fuel your weekend playlists.

Bob Dylan: Triplicate (Columbia). The iconic Dylan takes on a grand task with his very first triple set – a three-disc, 30-track studio album of classic cover songs, with each disc thematically titled, arranged, and sequenced. He handpicked the songs from a variety of American songwriters’ catalogs, including such gems as “Stardust,” “These Foolish Things,” “As Time Goes By,” “Stormy Weather,” and more. Music fans of all stripes will be hard-pressed not to find something to delight in on this project.

Trace Adkins: Something’s Going On (Wheelhouse). Adkins’s 12th studio album is also his first since entering rehab in 2014 — his low point yet another event he can add to an already tumultuous past. Fittingly, the 55-year-old singer takes a reflective, somewhat weary, but mature and rich direction on this release, exploring everything from sobriety to heartbreak.

Mastodon: Emperor of Sand (Reprise). The prog-rock experts get imaginative on their seventh release, presenting a complex journey contemplating the nature of time. It’s been a while since the band has approached a concept album, so this harks back in a welcome way to their earlier days. Sonically, it’s every bit as heavy, doom-ridden, and layered as any fan could hope.

Nelly Furtado: The Ride (Nelstar Entertainment). Ever since Furtado unexpectedly transformed in 2006 from her original folky singer-songwriter vibe to a glossy, sexy pop star, she’s been suffering from a bit of identity crisis. The past decade has found her not exactly taking a solid stance in any musical persona. Furtado changes this uncertainty on her sixth album, choosing to release it independently and do things exactly her way. The result is a balanced effort concentrating on her strong lyrical talent.

Goldfrapp: Silver Eye (Mute). The British duo has taken numerous detours in sound over its career. For its latest, Goldfrapp returns to what it does best — glittery, uptempo synth-pop that casts an auditory sheen and encourages one to get up and dance.

Dave & Russ Davies: Open Road (Red River Entertainment). The original Kinks guitarist teams up with his son, an electronic music producer, for a family outing that traverses a variety of musical identities spanning both of their sonic interests.

Body Count: Bloodlust (Century Media). Body Count has never shied away from being political, heavy, dark, or potentially incendiary. Nothing has changed with the latest release: Ice-T and company have plenty of material to work with postelection. Guest appearances by Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine, Lamb of God’s Randy Blythe, and Sepultura/Soulfly’s Max Cavalera are almost gilding the lily in terms of hammering the metal home.

Aimee Mann: Mental Illness (Superego). Mann has long been lauded for her vivid and quirky songwriting, anchored by a signature understated delivery. On her eighth studio album — and first in five years — she continues in this vein, but if anything is stripped even more bare than usual, presenting lyrics that are guaranteed to make one think … and ache deeply.

The Mavericks: Brand New Day (Mono Mundo Recordings). The Mavericks have taken their album title literally, changing career directions by choosing an independent release route with this set and taking their time crafting songs to perfection. Frontman Raul Malo explores a variety of emotional issues ranging from the death of his father to today’s political climate.

Jamiroquai: Automaton (Virgin). The global soul-funksters have been on hiatus for some time — their last album was back in 2010. Their return for this set, their eighth overall, puts a slight update on their classic U.K. house sound. However, there’s no taking these guys sonically out of their home base ’90s — which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

British Sea Power: Let the Dancers Inherit the Party (Golden Chariot). This week’s slate of releases includes several politically oriented sets, with this particular one from a U.K. band putting out its first music post-Brexit. British Sea Power take an almost anthemic approach to exploring the state of world affairs, assaulting the ears with big, pumping, fluttering songs.

Dailey & Vincent: Patriots and Poets (Dreamlined Entertainment Group). The recent Grand Ole Opry inductees pull no punches when it comes to bringing the best: They are joined on their latest release by bluegrass music’s top musicians, including Steve Martin, Doyle Lawson, Bela Fleck, and David Rawlings.

MercyMe: Lifer (MercyMe). Time has not tired these longstanding contemporary Christian icons — somehow they just keep getting more and more joyous with each release. On Lifer, they maintain an uptempo, happy, and modern vibe, attempting experiments such as adding rap verses, handclaps, and other fun touches.

George Winston: Spring Carousel (RCA). Winston offers up 15 piano compositions on this set, all written while he was in recovery from a bone marrow transplant for myelodysplastic syndrome, a rare disorder. The inspiring results are gleaming, swirling, and uplifiting, as benefits a record celebrating a new chance at life. All proceeds from the record will directly benefit City of Hope.

La’Porsha Renae: Already All Ready (19 Recordings). American Idol runner-up and fan favorite Renae whetted appetites last year with the release of the single “Good Woman.” She’s delivering the goods on her debut full-length, a celebration of self-identity on which she co-wrote most of the songs.