Online format for LCS 2020 Summer Split schedule revealed

Joseph Asuncion

Riot Games is ushering back the League of Legends Championship Series (LCS) with the 2020 Summer Split. With the Split now prepared for an online, remote format, Riot has adjusted the weekly schedules for more action-packed game days and creative content for fans and viewers.

Schedule changes

Credit: LCS

Monday Night League will now be moved to Friday as “a means to satisfy the needs of fans across multiple time zones.” Gabriella “LeTigress” Devia-Allen will be FNL’s main host while the show will be a testing ground for new segments and content.

As for now, Academy Rush will return to Fridays, with games being simultaneously played. Though this may have viewers splitting their time in watching different teams, Riot has assured that, once it’s safe to return to the LCS Studio, Academy games may move into the weekend for their own share of stage time.

Here is the new schedule of the LCS week:

  • Thursday – Academy (5 Games)
  • Friday – Academy Rush (5 Games), Friday Night League (2 Games)
  • Saturday – LCS (4 Games)
  • Sunday LCS (4 Games), League Lounge

Schedule and key dates

Credit: LCS

Academy will begin its Summer Split on June 11 while LCS will commence with Friday Night League on June 12. For the regular season, games will begin in the listed times below:

  • Thursday – 3 p.m. PDT (6 a.m. GMT +8)
  • Friday
    • Academy Rush – 3 p.m. PDT (6 a.m. GMT +8)
    • Friday Night League – 6 p.m. PDT (9 a.m. GMT +8)
  • Saturday – 1 p.m. PDT (4 a.m. GMT+8)
  • Sunday – 1 p.m. PDT (4 a.m. GMT+8)

Here are some key dates to remember if you’re looking to follow the LCS and Academy 2020 Summer Split:

LCS

  • Summer Split Regular Season: June 12 – August 9
  • Summer Playoffs: August 13 – September 6
  • Round 1: August 13-16
  • Round 2: August 20-23
  • Round 3: August 29-30
  • Finals: September 5-6

Academy

  • Summer Split Regular Season: June 11 – August 7
  • Summer Playoffs: August 13 – September 6
  • Quarterfinals: August 13-14
  • Semifinals: August 20-21
  • Finals: August 27-28

Friday Night League will start the Summer Split with 100 Thieves facing Evil Geniuses and a fated LCS Finals rematch between FlyQuest and Cloud9.

READ MORE: FaZe Clan and NRG are interested in joining the LCK in 2021