Oosthuizen says Woods warranted Masters DQ

South African golfer Louis Oosthuizen said Wednesday he felt Tiger Woods should have been disqualified from the US Masters for signing a wrong scorecard following an incorrect drop.

The world number seven will be the highest-ranked player teeing off Thursday in the $2.8 million Ballantine's Championship in South Korea, the golf-crazy country's only European Tour tournament.

Asked about the Woods incident at a pre-tournament press conference, Oosthuizen said he was with those who felt the 14-time major champion should not have been allowed to finish the tournament in Augusta.

After hitting the flagstick and seeing his ball roll into a water hazard at the 15th hole at Augusta, Woods dropped the ball two yards back from the original shot to avoid a similar risk on the next shot.

He was given a two-stroke penalty for an improper drop, but escaped disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard after the competition committee invoked a rule for a player who "unknowingly" makes a penalty.

"He got the rule wrong in the way he dropped," Oosthuizen said. "I don't think he did it intentionally. But after signing the scorecard, it was definitely a DQ."

Some former and current players had suggested Woods withdraw from the Masters, but he went on to complete the tournament.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.

Latest News