Port Dickson PKR ready to roll out by-election machinery

Mohd Khidir Zakaria

PORT DICKSON: Port Dickson PKR is ready to roll out its election machinery in anticipation of a by-election after its MP Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah today announced he would be resigning.

Danyal's resignation is to pave way for incoming PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's return to Parliament and eventually, as the country's next Prime Minister.

Port Dickson PKR secretary Mohd Amin Harun said they were now just waiting for the 'call to battle'.

"We will hold a meeting in the near future and will work hard to ensure success in this by-election. Our operations room is ready and waiting for this historic moment.

"We are honoured that Anwar has chosen Port Dickson and we are convinced that the voters here will give Anwar, who is also the future prime minister, an easy path," Mohd Amin, who is also PKR Pachitan branch chief said.

For local Daud Daie, he said many banners have been put up around Port Dickson showing support for Anwar.

The 56-year-old claimed people were eagerly anticipating the good news.

"We are confident that whoever contests against him (Anwar), there is no problem for him to win," he said.

"Port Dickson has been PKR's stronghold for the past three terms and in the 14th General Election (GE14), Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah won with a big majority of more than 17,000 votes."

Meanwhile Jefri Mohamad, 45, claimed that the people in Port Dickson were prepared to welcome Anwar.

"We are voting to elect a future prime minister. Therefore there is no such thing as an 'outsider' because the previous MP is also an outsider and he won big," Jefri said, referring to Danyal who is from Batu Kurau, Perak.

"I was made to understand that over 20 banners have been put up around here as a show of support for Anwar," he added.

For the record, Danyal won the Port Dickson seat in GE14 with a 17,110-vote majority, defeating Barisan Nasional's (BN) Datuk V Mogan and PAS' Mahfuz Roslan.

The banner installed around Port Dickson showed support to Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to contest in the P.132 Port Dickson parliamentary seat. (Pic by MOHD KHIDIR ZAKARIA)

© New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd