Robin Williams to be honored at the Comedy Awards

For the second year, the US cable channel Comedy Central will honor the funniest folks in film, television, stand-up and animation at The Comedy Awards, April 28, with presenters including Chris Rock (Grown Ups) and Bridesmaids’ Maya Rudolph, Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy, announced this week.

In what is expected to be an annual tradition, the ceremony in New York City will pay tribute to Robin Williams with the “Stand-Up Icon” award and veteran comedian Don Rickles will receive the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence.

Tina Fey (30 Rock, Date Night), Chevy Chase and Jon Stewart (The Daily Show) are also among the guest presenters. Nominees include television shows such as Modern Family, 30 Rock and Louis C.K., and films include Bridesmaids and Crazy Stupid Love.

The public can view the Best Viral Originals prior to voting, including Charlie Sheen singing and Will Ferrell on Zach Galifianakis’s web show Between Two Ferns. Fans can also vote for Breakout Performer of the Year on the website:

The illustrious jury selects the nominees, and industry heavyweights vote for other categories. The Board of Directors includes comedy greats Joan Rivers, Carol Burnett and Lily Tomlin, talk show host Conan O’Brien and political humorist Stephen Colbert.

The ceremony will be televised on Comedy Central May 6 and on its international channels in Europe, New Zealand, India, Israel and Africa.