Sarawak PKR, DAP say won’t fight over parliamentary seats in next GE

Sarawak PKR chairman Baru Bian (right) says both PKR and DAP have decided on the seats each will contest in the coming general elections, March 5, 2017. — Picture by Sulok Tawie

KUCHING, March 5 — The Sarawak chapters of PKR and DAP will be contesting the same parliamentary seats they had contested in 2013 for the upcoming general election, Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian said today.

“The status quo is maintained,” he told Malay Mail Online.

He said the state chapters PKR and DAP, both partners of the Pakatan Harapan (PH), will make a joint announcement on the seat allocations later.

Baru, who is also the Ba’Kelalan state assemblyman, said the state leaders of the two parties had already reached an agreement on the seat allocations last month.

“There will be no clash in the seats to be contested by PKR and DAP this time around,” he said in reference to the 2016 state elections in which the two parties faced each other in six seats.

Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen had also confirmed to Malay Mail Online that an agreement has been reached by PH’s three partners on the seat allocations.

On Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) — the third partner of PH — Baru said it will go for the seats which were contested by PAS in 2013.

“PAS is already out of equation so it is not part of PH,” he said, adding that the Islamist party will go on its own in the coming elections.

“On our part, we have dissociated ourselves from PAS because of a Bill to amendment Shariah Courts (Criminal Jurisdictions) Act 1965 (tabled by its president (Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang in parliament),”Baru said.

In the 2013 general elections, State PKR contested in Santubong, Petrajaya, Bengoh (formerly Mambong), Batang Lupar, Sri Aman, Lubok Antu, Betong, Saratok, Julau, Kanowit, Selangau, Ulu Rejang, Baram, Limbang and Miri.

DAP contested in Mas Gading, Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Serian, Sarikei, Sibu, Lanang, Mukah, Kapit, Bintulu and Lawas while PAS went for Kota Samarahan, Batang Sadong, Tanjong Manis, Igan and Sibuti.

State PKR only won in Miri, DAP won in Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sarikei, Sibu and Lanang while PAS lost all the seats it contested.

Sarawak has 31 parliamentary seats.