Seri Setia by-election : Halimey ready to declare his assets


PETALING JAYA: Pakatan Harapan candidate for the Seri Setia by-election Halimey Abu Bakar is willing to declare his assets in the near future, but not before the polling day.

He said, for the time being there is no need for him to declare his wealth but he is willing to do so should the Election Commission requested him to do as such.

“I am open to their (Umno and Pas) views. I am ready to declare my assets, but before that I will have to first discuss with the party’s leadership first. But, it is not a problem for me,” he told a press conference here today.

Halimey was asked to comment on calls by Umno and Pas leaderships for all Seri Setia by-election candidates to declare their assets, ahead of polling day tomorow.

He however said both Umno and Pas should have voiced out on such request earlier.

"Before this, they did not ask us to do so. I believe they are just trying to create issues at the very last minute before the campaigning period ends,” he said.

Meanwhile, Halimey said he is confident to win the state seat by 96 per cent.

“I am 96 per cent confident on winning the seat. Having served the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ), the voters believe that I can better serve and bring improvement for them,” said Halimey, who is set to contest against Pas candidate Dr Halimah Ali.

Asked on the first thing that he will do, should he win the state seat, Halimey said he will ensure that Seri Setia Community Service Centre is functioning properly.

“For the sake of the people in Seri Setia, I will make sure the service centre will be managed properly so that all affairs related to the residents can be resolved quickly.

“InsyaAllah (God willing), I will also hold a special prayers function to thank the voters if we win this state seat.”

The state seat fell vacant after assemblyman and Selangor executive councillor Prof Dr Shaharuddin Badaruddin died on Aug 2 after a battle with cancer.

Shaharuddin won the seat with a majority of 19,372 ballots. He defeated BN candidate, Yusoff M Haniff, Pas’ Mohd Ghazali Daud and independent candidate S. Vigneswaran. © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd