Shorter service hours from Admiralty to Yio Chu Kang MRT stations on 1 June-1 July: SMRT

Staff Writer, Singapore
·Editorial Team
(Reuters file photo)
(Reuters file photo)

Five MRT stations along the North South Line (NSL) will close earlier and open later on weekends for a month to facilitate rail engineering and rectification works, said rail operator SMRT on Thursday (17 May).

From 1 June to 1 July, the affected MRT stations – from Admiralty to Yio Chu Kang – will close earlier at around 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays, and open later at around 8am on Saturdays and Sundays.

For the weekend period from 15-17 June, train services will run as per normal with operating hours extended on 14 June (the eve of Hari Raya Puasa), the SMRT added.


While the five affected stations are closed from 11pm, commuters can travel on the NSL between Jurong East and Woodlands MRT stations, and between Ang Mo Kio and Marina South Pier MRT stations until the end of service.

The rail operator also added that two bus services will serve as alternative travel options for affected commuters.

Shuttle bus service 10 will operate along the stretch of the NSL between Woodlands and Ang Mo Kio MRT stations, stopping at designated bus stops near the affected stations to pick up and drop off passengers.

Express 17, which operates point-to-point between Woodlands and Bukit Panjang MRT stations, will connect commuters directly to the Downtown Line.


“Our engineering teams are making good progress on the renewal, maintenance, and rectification works along the North-South and East-West Lines, thanks to the additional hours available on weekends over the past six months,” said Lee Ling Wee, CEO for SMRT Trains.

The rail operator has been working closely with the Land Transport Authority to step up their renewal and maintenance efforts, he added.

“Where possible, we are adjusting the operational hours along the NSEWL in sectors and keeping the rest of the network operating regularly so as to minimise inconvenience to commuters,” he said.

In April, SMRT announced that seven MRT stations – from Khatib to Novena – along the NSL would also close earlier and open later on weekends in May.

Related stories:

Shorter weekend operating hours for 7 MRT stations along NSL in May

Bukit Panjang LRT to close on Sundays from 15 April-24 June for maintenance

East West Line early closures to continue through April: SMRT