Singapore public invited to name three Circle Line MRT stations

Graphic: LTA

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is inviting members of the public to suggest names for three of Singapore’s new Circle Line MRT stations.

The three stations on Circle Line 6 are currently known as Keppel, Cantonment and Prince Edward.

The station names need to meet one of several criteria:

  • Help commuters easily identify where the station is located
  • Illustrate the history and heritage of the station’s location; and/or reflect Singapore’s multi-racial and multi-cultural identity
  • Stations are not to be named after public structures, or commercial and residential developments.

Contributors can send suggestions to LTA at

Apart from suggesting new names, contributors may also propose to keep the current working names by submitting a brief rationale to explain why. The closing date to send in suggestions is 18 June 2017.

LTA will collate and shortlist names that meet the naming criteria, and send a final list of names for endorsement by the Street and Building Names Board.

A public polling exercise will then be conducted later this year to determine the final MRT station names.

When the three Circle Line 6 stations are completed in 2025, the Circle Line will have a total of 33 stations, including 12 interchange stations with other MRT lines.

The names listed above are the stations’ working names.
Graphic: LTA.