Smith to captain Australia in rugby test against Kiwis

Cameron Smith has been named as captain of the Australia team for Friday's rugby league Test match against New Zealand in Auckland.

The Melbourne hooker takes over from the retired Darren Lockyer as skipper, with Cronulla's Paul Gallen handed the vice-captaincy role.

North Queensland front rower James Tamou will make his debut off the interchange bench at Eden Park against the reigning world champions.

South Sydney's David Taylor will also make his debut, starting in the back-row. It is a long awaited start for Taylor, who was forced out of the Four Nations tour of the UK last year due to injury.

Australia - Cameron Smith (captain), Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Akuila Uate, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Paul Gallen, David Shillington, David Taylor, Sam Thaiday, Luke Lewis. Interchange: Daly Cherry-Evans, Ben Hannant, James Tamou, Anthony Watmough.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.

Latest News