SNOC elects Jessie Phua, Juliana Seow as VPs, as veteran Tan Eng Liang steps down

·Editorial Team
·3-min read
28th SEA Games Singapore 2015 - Singapore Sports Hub, Singapore - 16/6/15    Team Singapore Post-Games Media Conference - Singapore's Chef de Mission Dr Tan Eng Liang (2nd R) speaks   TEAMSINGAPORE  Mandatory Credit: Singapore SEA Games Organising Committee / Action Images via Reuters
SNOC vice-president Tan Eng Liang (second from right), who has stepped down from his post after 28 years of service. (FILE PHOTO: Singapore SEA Games Organising Committee / Action Images via Reuters)

SINGAPORE — Sports administrators Jessie Phua and Juliana Seow were elected as vice-presidents of the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) on Wednesday (23 September), while long-time vice-president Dr Tan Eng Liang stepped down after 28 years of service.

Phua and Seow will serve a four-year term until 2024, and will join incumbent vice-presidents Milan Kwee and Benedict Tan, both of whom are serving four-year terms from 2018 to 2022.

Phua, who is president of Singapore Bowling Federation, was defending her vice-president seat while Seow, who is president of Fencing Singapore, was contesting the seat vacated by Dr Tan.

The other candidate for the seat was former sepak takraw president Abdul Halim Kader.

The duo were elected at SNOC’s annual general meeting, held via video conferencing due to COVID-19 considerations. A total of 225 delegates – representing 45 ordinary-members, four associate-members and five provisional-members National Sports Associations (NSAs) – attended the meeting.

Tribute to Tan’s service in S’pore sports

SNOC president Tan Chuan-Jin paid tribute to Dr Tan, who has represented Singapore sports since the 1950s.

The 83-year-old was a former water polo player who played at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, and had won medals at the SEAP Games and Asian Games throughout the 1950s and 1960s.

He was chairman of the Singapore Sports Council from 1975 to 1991, before serving as SNOC vice-president from 1992 to 2020. In between, he was chef de mission for Team Singapore’s Games contingents on 12 occasions.

Dr Tan was also a Member of Parliament for River Valley from 1972 to 1980, and was appointed Senior Minister of State for National Development (1975 to 1978) and Finance (1978 to 1979).

“Dr Tan has been a dedicated and selfless servant to sport in Singapore. He passionately cares about our sports and athletes, and he is irreplaceable for what he brings to the table. We thank him for the decades that he has poured into sport, and wish him a happy retirement,” SNOC president Tan said.

The 2020/2021 SNOC executive committee:
Tan Chuan-Jin
Vice-presidents: Milan Kwee, Benedict Tan, Jessie Phua, Juliana Seow
Honorary treasurer: Edwin Lee
Member: Lawrence Leow
Co-opted Members: Lim Teck Yin, Tan Chen Kee, Mark Chay (Chairman, Athletes’ Commission), Lau Kok Keng
Secretary-General (Ex-officio): Chris Chan
Assistant Secretary-General (Ex-officio): Edmund Lim

Stay in the know on-the-go: Join Yahoo Singapore's Telegram channel at

More Singapore stories:

Over 10,000 taxi and private hire cars drivers returned negative in COVID-19 tests this month

COVID-19: Big cinema halls allowed up to 150 patrons each, other halls can raise capacity to 50% or 50 patrons

COVID-19: More employees allowed to return to workplaces from next Monday – Lawrence Wong

COVID-19: More attendees allowed for weddings, religious services from 3 October

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting