Teng to contest Tanjung Bungah

Opalyn Mok
Teng Chang Yeow and GE14 hopefuls wave flags after Penang BN announced its candidate list in George Town April 24, 2018. — Picture by Sayuti Zainudin

GEORGE TOWN, April 24 — Penang Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Teng Chang Yeow will be contesting the Tanjung Bungah state seat.

The seat was former Penang chief minister Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon’s state seat between 1990 and 2004.

Teng, who had previously contested Bukit Tengah but lost, said he chose Tanjung Bungah due to the civil society issues in the constituency.

“There is a deterioration of environment under the current state government as well as a lack of consultation in the constituency,” Teng said in a press conference after the list of Penang BN candidates was announced today.

He said there was no longer an emphasis on consultation with civil society groups and Tanjung Bungah is where most of them are based.

“We also look at the voters’ profile of 60 per cent Chinese and 26 per cent Malays so it is a seat that reflects what Gerakan represents,” he said.

Teng, who is also Penang Gerakan chairman, will be going up against DAP’s Zairil Khir Johari, Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s Chua Cheong Wee and Malaysian United Party’s Lee Zheng Yong.

Tanjung Bungah was traditionally a Gerakan stronghold before DAP’s Teh Yee Cheu wrested the seat from the party in 2008.

Teh held the seat for two terms before resigning from DAP and will be contesting in Sungai Pinang under Parti Sosialis Malaysia.

Issues often raised by civil society groups in Tanjung Bungah include landslides, over-development and hillside projects.

There are 21,812 registered voters in the constituency and DAP defended the seat in 2013 with a 5,515-vote majority.