All three Pas veeps retain posts at party polls


ALOR STAR: All three Pas vice-presidents, Idris Ahmad, Datuk Mohd Amar Abdullah and Datuk Iskandar Abdul Samad, retained their posts at the Pas party polls.

The results were announced by election committee chairman, Datuk Wan Abdul Mutalib Embong at the party's 63rd Muktamar here, today.

The three vice-presidents defended their posts from former Pas Youth chief, Nasrudin Hassan Tantawi.

Idris received the most votes, with 1,062 votes, Amar with 950 votes and Iskandar with 703 votes. Nasrudin, meanwhile, received 478 votes.

For the first time ever, the party utilised an e-voting system, which saw results automatically and immediately tallied after the last person cast his vote.

Delegates cast their vote during the start of the Muktamar on April 29.

"Out of 1,209 eligible voters, a total of 1,102 delegates voted in this year's party polls," said Mutalib.

Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and deputy president Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man retained their posts uncontested.