Unofficial: Pakatan retains Balakong state seat

Danial Dzulkifly
An Election Commission (EC) worker arrives carrying a ballot box from the Balakong by-election to the official counting centre in Bangi September 8, 2018. — Picture by Shafwan Zaidon.

BALAKONG, Sept 8 — Pakatan Harapan’s DAP candidate Wong Siew Ki has won the Balakong state seat, according to unofficial results released by the party.

Wong managed to garner 20,403 votes compared to MCA’s Tan Chee Teong’s 3,591 votes.

However, the official tally is only expected to be announced after 9pm.

The polls closed at a low 43 per cent out of registered 62,229 voters.

Related Articles EC: Turnouts in Seri Setia, Balakong lowest in history DAP hormat keputusan PKR kosongkan kerusi untuk Anwar DAP respects PKR’s decision to vacate seat, says Guan Eng