Wan Junaidi leads honours list in conjunction with Melaka Yang Dipertua's 79th birthday


KUALA LUMPUR: Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar tops the list of 1,047 recipients of medals awarded in conjunction with Yang di-Pertua Melaka Tun Dr Mohd Khalil Yaakob’s 79th birthday on Saturday.

Wan Junaidi will receive the Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM) which carries the title Datuk Seri.

Eleven other people will receive the DGSM, among whom are Umno executive secretary Datuk Seri Ab Rauf Yusof, state Education, Higher Education, Science and Technology, Green Technology and Innovation Committee chairman Datuk Md Yunos Husin and businessman Tan Sri Syed Mohd Yusof Syed Nasir.

Thirty people will receive the Darjah Cemerlang Seri Mahkota (DCSM) which carries the title Datuk Wira. Among them are Deputy Tourism and Culture Minister Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, Deputy Urban Well-being, Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Halimah Sadique and principal private secretary to the prime minister Datuk Iskandar Mohd Kaus.

Meanwhile, Melaka police chief Datuk Abd Jalil Hassan, High Court judge Datuk Vazeer Alam Mydin Meera and federal police Criminal Investigation Department deputy director Deputy Commissioner Saiful Azly Kamaruddin are among 11 recipients of the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) which carries the title Datuk.

The Darjah Pangkuan Seri Melaka (DPSM), which also carries the title Datuk, will be presented to 121, including Datin Halimah Baba, the wife of the State Speaker, Archives Department director-general Azemi Abdul Aziz and the engineer of the Abraj al-Bait clock tower in Mecca, Wan Nazri Wan Aria.

Also, receiving the DPSM are The Malaysian Times Sdn Bhd chief executive officer and media consultant Anbumani Balan, Star Group Bhd chief operating officer Kan Kin Seong and China Press Sdn Bhd editor-in-chief Teoh Yang Khoon.

A total of 57 people will receive the Darjah Seri Melaka (DSM), 62 will receive the Bintang Cemerlang Melaka (BCM), 194 the Bintang Khidmat Terpuji (BKT), 325 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK), 213 the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM), and 22 the Pingat Khidmat Lama (PKL).

State Secretary Datuk Seri Naim Abu Bakar said today the awards would be given out in three sessions on Saturday, and on Nov 4 and 5.

He said 215 recipients would be presented their awards on Saturday, while 432 would receive them on Nov 4 and the remaining 400 on Nov 5. © New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd