How to watch The Game Awards 2019

The Game Awards is known just as much, if not more, for its previews and announcements than for its accolades

The 2019 edition of The Game Awards, an annual fusion of accolades, previews, reveals, and fan enthusiasm for the video game industry as sanctioned by some of its most senior executives, takes place December 12 beginning at 5.30pm Pacific (December 13 in the Eastern hemisphere.)

Over a dozen social media and streaming platforms are carrying The Game Awards 2019, from Facebook and Snapchat to Mixer and Caffeine.

- When and where -

The December 12 show is scheduled to begin at 5.30pm Pacific, or 8.30pm Eastern.

For those east of the Atlantic Ocean and wanting to watch live, it's a December 13 date: 1.30am UK, 2.30am Central Europe, 3.30am South Africa, 7am India, 9.30am in Singapore, the Philippines, Malaysia, and Beijing, China, 10.30am South Korea and Japan and then 12.30pm in Sydney, Australia.

Broadcasts are to be carried by TheGameAwards accounts on YouTube, Facebook, Twitch (plus channel host co-streams), and Twitter, while the show's social media channels extend to Snapchat, Discord and TikTok.

Other broadcasters include Valve's PC gaming platform Steam, PlayStation, Microsoft's Xbox-integrated live streaming service Mixer, Major League Gaming, live streaming service Caffeine, and Viacom's Pluto TV, as well as local and regional partners in China, India, Taiwan, Southeast Asia, Japan, Russia, Korea, Brazil, Argentina and Germany.

There are also events being put on in 53 Cinemark theaters in the USA as well as venues operated by Facebook's Oculus.

- Leading nominees -

Among nominees, sci-fi city-connecting hike "Death Stranding" leads with nine nods across various categories.

Fellow Game of the Year contender and paranormal action game "Control" amassed eight nominations while medieval Japanese warrior quest "Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice" enters The Game Awards under consideration in five categories.

- Game previews -

The Game Awards is known just as much, if not more so, for its previews, reveals, and announcements as for its trophies.

Show presenter and producer Geoff Keighley has forecast at least 10 new game reveals.

Of those, the "League of Legends" studio is to unveil its first story-led spin-off made by an external studio, Chinese internet giant is to show the mysterious "Naraka: Bladepoint," and Wolfeye Studios, set up by ex-Arkane staff ("Dishonored," "Prey") is also debuting its first title.

Sony's PlayStation division is to showcase more from early 2020 launch "Ghost of Tsushima."

In addition, Keighley was involved in the November announcement of "Half-Life: Alyx." It was thought to be heading for a Game Awards reveal before it was unintentionally leaked and then officially announced.

Among existing titles, "Fortnite," "Warframe" and "The Elder Scrolls Online" have each alerted their fans to TGA announcements.