Workers' Party Jamus Lim elected council member of Economic Society of Singapore

·Editorial team
·2-min read
Jamus Lim, Workers’ Party candidate for Sengkang GRC, seen on walkabout in Anchorvale Link on 2 July 2020. (PHOTO: Yahoo News Singapore)
Jamus Lim, Workers’ Party candidate for Sengkang GRC, seen on walkabout in Anchorvale Link on 2 July 2020. (PHOTO: Yahoo News Singapore)

SINGAPORE — Newly elected Member of Parliament Jamus Lim has been elected as a council member of the Economic Society of Singapore (ESS).

The Workers’ Party MP-elect for Sengkang GRC and associate professor at Essec Business School is among seven new faces elected to the 36-member council.

The six other new council members are Choi Kent, a team leader at investment bank Credit Suisse; Professor Christina Soh, dean of Nanyang Technological University (NTU)'s business school; Professor Satoru Takahashi, head of the National University of Singapore's economics department; Associate Professor of economics Tan Swee Liang at Singapore Management University; Franky Tanudjojo, managing director and head of international banking at Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore); and Song Seng Wun, an economist at CIMB Private Banking.

“Anyone with a tertiary background and passionate about economics can join the ESS and can contest in ESS annual elections to be a council member. If a member gets sufficient votes then he gets in,” said the council in response to queries on Thursday (23 July).

“The ESS looks for people who can make a difference to raising discussions and awareness of economic issues particularly in the context of Singapore and the region.”

NTU professor Euston Quah will remain the president of the ESS’s 64th council, a position he has held since 2009.

Founded in 1956, the non-profit organisation brings together members from the academia, government and the business sector.

Among its honorary fellows are the late Dr Goh Keng Swee, former deputy prime minister, Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, former prime minister Goh Chok Tong and Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat. Nominated Member of the Parliament Associate Professor Walter Theseira sits on the current council.

Stay in the know on-the-go: Join Yahoo Singapore's Telegram channel at

Other Singapore stories

COVID-19: Some CCAs, school activities can resume from 27 July, says MOE

4 Singapore residents among 354 new COVID-19 cases in S'pore; crosses 49,000 mark

COVID-19: 4 student cases from 4 schools linked to household infections

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting