The Florida Department of Health announced a new rule. Businesses, schools, and government bodies that demand people to present proof of vaccination against COVID-19 will soon risk a large fine. Florida will fine $5,000 fine to businesses and schools that need proof of vaccination.
For those that ask consumers or members to show vaccination paperwork, Florida will fine $5,000 per individual and separate violation, according to the rule. On Friday, it got a green signal and enters into effect on Sept. 16.
The law states that violators can appeal their fines. However, once the appeal is denied, they will have 30 days to pay.
Gov. Ron DeSantis signed a measure in May prohibiting businesses, schools, and government entities from requesting vaccination evidence. The law also permits the state’s health agency to levy a fine of “not to exceed $5,000 per violation”. It is on those who violate the ban.
“This legislation ensures that legal safeguards are in place so that local governments cannot arbitrarily close our schools or businesses,” the Republican lawmaker, 42, said in a statement at the time. “In Florida, your personal choice regarding vaccinations will be protected and no business or government entity will be able to deny you services based on your decision.”
DeSantis signed an executive order last month forbidding school boards from imposing mask regulations in the new academic year; in addition to banning COVID-19 vaccinations in schools.
He threatens to deduct pay from school district employees who don’t follow the new policy.
This article Florida imposes a $5,000 fine to businesses and schools that need proof of vaccination appeared first on BreezyScroll.
Read more on BreezyScroll.