Labour takes Ashford from Conservatives for first time in 139 years

Labour has won Ashford from the Conservatives for the first time in 139 years.

Sojan Joseph won 15,262 votes, knocking out Conservative Damian Green who secured 13,483. Mr Green had been Ashford’s MP since 1997.

Ashford’s constituency includes North Downs East and West, Folkestone, and Hythe.

Mr Joseph is currently working as a matron in an NHS mental health unit in the area, and is keen to improve access to the services for young people in the area.

The Conservative loss is one of over 240 for the party in this election.