Polling districts in seven GRCs adjusted

PHOTO: Nicholas Yong
PHOTO: Nicholas Yong/Yahoo News Singapore

SINGAPORE — The number of polling districts in seven group representation constituencies (GRCs) has been adjusted, with six GRCs seeing an increased number of polling districts.

According to a notification in the electronic edition of the Government Gazette on Thursday (12 March), the GRCs are: Ang Mo Kio, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Chua Chu Kang, Nee Soon, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Sembawang and Tampines.

The changes were made under the Parliamentary Elections Act.

For example, Pasir-Ris Punggol GRC has the largest number of polling districts at 81, up from 78. Ang Mo Kio GRC, now has 64 such districts, an increase of two.

A polling district is a sub-division within a constituency, each with its own polling station. The changes have been made to ensure that no polling station handles too many or too few voters.

On average, each polling district has between 2,500 and 3,500 voters. They were reportedly amended in 2017 and February 2019.

The next general election in Singapore is due by April 2021.

The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC) was convened in August 2019. It was directed to review the boundaries of the current electoral divisions and to recommend the number and boundaries of GRCs and Single Member Constituencies (SMCs).

Once the EBRC report is released, Parliament will be dissolved by the President upon the advice of the PM. She will then direct the Returning Officer to issue a Writ of Election.

On Wednesday, at a roundtable organised by Singapore Press Holdings, Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat said that the ongoing COVID-19 global pandemic would impact the timing of an election, and that he would discuss the issue with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Related stories

DPM Heng stresses to SDP chairman that civil servants in electoral boundaries committee are independent

COMMENT: Boundaries review committee formed...so now what?