Tony Awards 2024 Winners List: ‘Stereophonic’ and ‘The Outsiders’ Win Top Prizes

“Stereophonic” and “The Outsiders” were the big winners at Sunday’s 77th Tony Awards, which telecast live from Lincoln Center’s David H. Koch Theater in New York City on CBS and Paramount+.

“West Side Story” Oscar winner Ariana DeBose returned for the third year in a row to host the ceremony, which saw best leading and featured performance wins for Hollywood crossover actors like Sarah Paulson, Daniel Radcliffe and Jeremy Strong, while theater stalwart stage performer Kecia Lewis won for “Hell’s Kitchen,” as did the Alicia Keys musical’s newcomer Maleah Joi Moon.

Among the nominees for this year’s honors were first-time nominees Rachel McAdams for “Mary Jane” and producer Angelina Jolie for “The Outsiders” (the latter of whom shared the biggest win of the night) and Broadway veterans like Kelli O’Hara for “Days of Wine and Roses” and Jonathan Groff, who won best leading actor performance for “Merrily We Roll Along.”

“Film and TV can make you rich, can make you famous. But theater will make you better,” DeBose said in her rousing opening number for the ceremony. Other key performances included Jay-Z and Keys’ rendition of “Empire State of Mind” and Eddie Redmayne’s immersive, frenetic turn as the Master of Ceremonies in “Cabaret.”

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Below is the full list of this year’s Tony Award nominations, with (*WINNER) indicating who received the honor in each category.

Best Play

“Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”
“Mary Jane”
“Mother Play”
“Prayer for the French Republic”
“Stereophonic” (*WINNER)

Best Revival of a Play

“Appropriate” (*WINNER)
“An Enemy of the People”
“Purlie Victorious”

Best Revival of a Musical

“Gutenberg! The Musical!”
“Merrily We Roll Along” (*WINNER)

Best Musical

“Hell’s Kitchen”
“The Outsiders” (*WINNER)
“Water for Elephants”

Best Leading Actress in a Play

Betsy Aidem, “Prayer for the French Republic”
Jessica Lange, “Mother Play”
Rachel McAdams, “Mary Jane”
Sarah Paulson, “Appropriate” (*WINNER)
Amy Ryan, “Doubt”

Best Leading Actor in a Play

William Jackson Harper, “Uncle Vanya” 
Leslie Odom Jr., “Purlie Victorious”
Liev Schreiber, “Doubt”
Jeremy Strong, “An Enemy of the People” (*WINNER)
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Patriots”

Best Featured Actor in a Play

Will Brill, “Stereophonic” (*WINNER)
Eli Gelb, “Stereophonic”
Jim Parsons, “Mother Play”
Tom Pecinka, “Stereophonic”
Corey Stoll, “Appropriate”

Best Featured Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, “Doubt”
Juliana Canfield, “Stereophonic”
Celia Keenan-Bolger, “Mother Play”
Sarah Pidgeon, “Stereophonic”
Kara Young, “Purlie Victorious” (*WINNER)

Best Direction of a Play

Daniel Aukin, “Stereophonic” (*WINNER)
Anne Kauffman, “Mary Jane”
Kenny Leon, “Purlie Victorious: A Non-Confederate Romp Through the Cotton Patch”
Lila Neugebauer, “Appropriate”
Whitney White, “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”

Best Leading Actress in a Musical

Eden Espinosa, “Lempicka”
Maleah Joi Moon, “Hell’s Kitchen” (*WINNER)
Maryann Plunkett, “The Notebook”
Kelli O’Hara, “Days of Wine and Roses,”
Gayle Rankin, “Cabaret”

Best Leading Actor in a Musical

Brody Grant, “The Outsiders”
Jonathan Groff, “Merrily We Roll Along” (*WINNER)
Dorian Harewood, “The Notebook”
Brian d’Arcy James, “Days of Wine and Roses”
Eddie Redmayne, “Cabaret”

Best Featured Actor in a Musical

Roger Bart, “Back to the Future”
Joshua Boone, “The Outsiders”
Brandon Victor Dixon, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Daniel Radcliffe, “Merrily We Roll Along” (*WINNER)
Steven Skybell, “Cabaret”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Shoshana Bean, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Amber Iman, “Lempicka”
Nikki M. James, “Suffs”
Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer, “Spamalot”
Kecia Lewis, “Hell’s Kitchen” (*WINNER)
Lindsay Mendez, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Bebe Neuwirth, “Cabaret”

Best Direction of a Musical

Maria Friedman, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Michael Greif, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Leigh Silverman, “Suffs”
Jessica Stone, “Water for Elephants”
Danya Taymor, “The Outsiders” (*WINNER)

Best Book of a Musical

Bekah Brunstetter, “The Notebook”
Kristoffer Diaz, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Rick Elice, “Water for Elephants”
Adam Rapp and Justin Levine, “The Outsiders”
Shaina Taub, “Suffs” (*WINNER)

Best Original Score

Will Butler, “Stereophonic”
Adam Guettel, “Days of Wine and Roses”
Jamestown Revival and Justin Levine, “The Outsiders”
David Byrne and Fatboy Slim, “Here Lies Love”
Shaina Taub, “Suffs” (*WINNER)

Best Scenic Design of a Play

dots, “An Enemy of the People”
dots, “Appropriate”
Derek McLane, “Purlie Victorious”
David Zinn, “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”
David Zinn, “Stereophonic” (*WINNER)

Best Costume Design of a Play

Dede Ayite, “Appropriate”
Dede Ayite, “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding” (*WINNER)
Enver Chakartash, “Stereophonic”
Emilio Sosa, “Purlie Victorious”
David Zinn, “An Enemy of the People”

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Isabella Byrd, “Enemy of the People”
Amith Chandrashaker, “Prayer for the French Republic”
Jiyoun Chang, “Stereophonic”
Jane Cox, “Appropriate”
Natasha Katz, “Grey House”

Best Sound Design of a Play

Justin Ellington and Stefania Bulbarella, “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”
Leah Gelpe, “Mary Jane”
Tom Gibbons, “Grey House”
Bray Poor and Will Pickens, “Appropriate” (*WINNER)
Ryan Rumery, “Stereophonic”

Best Costume Design of a Musical

Dede Ayite, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Linda Cho, “The Great Gatsby” (*WINNER)
David Israel Reynoso, “Water for Elephants”
Tom Scutt, “Cabaret”
Paul Tazewell, “Suffs”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Brandon Stirling Baker, “Illinoise”
Isabella Byrd, “Cabaret”
Natasha Katz, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Bradley King and David Bengali, “Water for Elephants”
Brian MacDevitt and Hana S. Kim, “The Outsiders” (*WINNER)

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

AMP featuring Tatiana Kahvegian, “The Outsiders”
Robert Brill and Peter Nigrini, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Takeshi Kata, “Water for Elephants”
David Korins, “Here Lies Love”
Riccardo Hernández and Peter Nigrini, “Lempicka”
Tim Hatley and Finn Ross, “Back To The Future: The Musical”
Tom Scutt, “Cabaret” (*WINNER)

Best Sound Design of a Musical

M.L. Dogg and Cody Spencer, “Here Lies Love”
Kai Harada, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Nick Lidster, “Cabaret”
Gareth Owen, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Cody Spencer, “The Outsiders” (*WINNER)

Best Choreography

Camille A. Brown, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Shana Carroll and Jesse Robb, “Water for Elephants”
Rick and Jeff Kuperman, “The Outsiders”
Annie-B Parson, “Here Lies Love”
Justin Peck, “Illinoise” (*WINNER)

Best Orchestrations

Timo Andres, “Illinoise”
Tom Kitt and Adam Blackstone, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Will Butler and Justin Craig, “Stereophonic”
Justin Levine, Matt Hinkley and Jamestown Revival, “The Outsiders”
Jonathan Tunick, “Merrily We Roll Along” (*WINNER)

The post Tony Awards 2024 Winners List: ‘Stereophonic’ and ‘The Outsiders’ Win Top Prizes appeared first on TheWrap.