Free WiFi at all MRT stations by 2020

Photo: Land Transport Authority

Commuters can expect free WiFi service at all MRT and LRT station platforms, as well as at 30 bus interchanges and terminals by 2020.

Starting Monday (12 Oct), free WiFi will be available at Buangkok, Kovan, Little India, Paya Lebar and Potong Pasir stations.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is planning to expand its free WiFi service progressively to transport nodes around the nation, it said in a statement on Monday.

Currently, free WiFi is available at 33 MRT Stations.

“Enabling the first 33 stations with the free WiFi service is part of our programme to provide wireless coverage on our public transport network." said Rosina Howe-Teo, Group Director for Innovation and IT at LTA. "This enhances the commuting experience by providing an ‘always connected’ journey for commuters who need to check their emails or read the news during their commutes."

The free Wifi currently receives 700,000 logins daily, a fourfold increase since its launch in the first three stations in August last year.

Commuters can recognise WiFi-connected platforms by the posters and decals at the stations.